Where are you going next?

It’s been a year since my experience in the Philippines.  Since then I’ve pretty much been a homebody.   My job is pretty demanding (12 classes, 250 students).  I play soccer, run trails at the ASC Greenway with my dear companion Dexter, and occasionally visit my aunt’s house on Tybee Island.  That’s it.

Well, no, that’s not it.  Almost every day someone asks me where I’m going next. That question, along with how to get there and sustain myself is always on my mind.  My travel experiences up to now have been amazing.  As I meet more and more people who travel independently – not just for vacation of business, but as a way of life – I know that it’s not just daydreaming, but something I can really do.  Not being wealthy certainly presents a challenge.  I worked in China, volunteered in Peru, and had a professional development grant for the Philippines.  If you’re willing to put in some effort, there are countless opportunities for affordable travel.

So where am I going next?  Honduras.  I’m going to teach 5th grade math and science at Escuela Bilingüe Honduras, in Comayagua.  It’s a pretty exciting opportunity.  One of the teachers from TGC who was with me in the Philippines, Diana, worked at this school for 3 years and introduced me to the directors via e-mail.  After teaching basic Spanish for 10 years, it will be fun to teach math and science again.  Since it’s a bilingual school, I will be teaching my classes in English.  So for now, everything is about preparation. Making sure my family is prepared to manage things while I’m gone, figuring out what to take and what to leave behind, brushing up on my Spanish (teaching basic Spanish is not like real world conversation), and basically just riding an emotional roller-coaster.

This week I quit my job and bought my plane ticket.  Very big, scary steps, but it’s done.  Let the adventure begin.

https://www.google.com/maps/embed?pb=!1m18!1m12!1m3!1d3863.4826409578022!2d-87.64656408602463!3d14.456952984458596!2m3!1f0!2f0!3f0!3m2!1i1024!2i768!4f13.1!3m3!1m2!1s0x8f6585896d89493d%3A0xe69e2f453507e726!2sEscuela+Biling%C3%BCe+Honduras!5e0!3m2!1sen!2sus!4v1462630568784“>map of Comayagua

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

