Could I have a little help from my friends?

What will they do if I sing out of tune?  Will they stand up and walk out on me?  Well, I’m not taking any chances.  I’m definitely not singing. But I could use a little help.

I will be talking to my students at Leganes National High School about the school system in the United States. Since I’m the recycling coordinator at Sullivan, they have also asked me to do a lesson about recycling.

Here’s what I need from you, parents, students, teachers, and friends (of course, guys, you are in overlapping categories!) What are your perspectives on American Public Schools?  If you had to briefly describe the American school system to someone on the other side of the world, what would you want them to understand?

Also, what would you like to know about schools in  the Philippines?  Keep in mind that my assignment will be in a large high school (1,700) in a city of more than 400K.  This is the first year they have had a K-12 system.  Formerly they were school until 10 th grade.  If I understand correctly, this is the first year they have had a graduating class of 12th graders, so it has been a big adjustment.  I also hope to be able to travel to remote areas and see different types of schools during the extension of my trip.

So to summarize :

1)  Briefly, how would you describe the American School System – from your personal experience and/or general terms.

2)  Do you recycle regularly, why or why not? Do your recycling efforts matter to people in Asia, or vice versa?

3)  What interests you about schools in Asia?  Is here anything you would like me to ask?

Please comment!

Thanks for your help!  Please follow my blog over the summer.  Hopefully it will be interesting for you and you can definitely help me along the way!

Thanks!

Roma

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Could I have a little help from my friends?

  1. Jenni says:

    American schools: public schools, which I attended many years ago, are generally lecture-based classes with social club interruptions about every hour. I was not taught to recycle until I was in my 30s, and I do it now religiously, thanks to the tutelage of my environmentally-minded parents. I do not have children, so my perspective on schools is of little consequence, therefore, I don’t think about it very much. I admire teachers, however, more than I admire anyone.

    Like

  2. Jolene Wheelock says:

    My response about American schools is from what I have seen while substituting. The schools in my area are moving more and more to computers for math and for fun, games involving math. Students also need more assistance with the basic fundamentals of Reading, Writing, and Arithmatic. Many classrooms could be over-filled with 20-30+ students per teacher depending on the size of the school and grades. Despite this, students prefer one-on-one teaching which makes it hard for one teacher to have everyone’s attention.
    About recycling…I recycle water bottles every day. I refill my bottles every day and bring the bottles to work. We do not have a recycling plant in my area and not enough people became involved in sorting out the recyclables. One thing I despise more than not recycling is littering. While walking my dogs, I try to pick up trash along my road which is very intensive work. If people recycled their bottles, we would have less trash on our roads.
    I have a few questions I am interested in knowing about schools in Asia. If the students stop at a particular grade level depending on the areas? Television here show hardships of students going to school and staying in school. Do most students learn multiple languages to be taught by English teachers? How do they plan on implementing what they have learned?
    Good luck and safe travels to all teachers. The journeys you take to be able to teach are almost as important as the quality of teaching. A happy teacher is a better teacher.

    Like

    • romadenise says:

      Jolene, part of what we’ll be doing is learning about their school systems. They recently went from K-10 to K-12. If I’m not mistaken, this year’s 12th graders are the first 12th graders.

      I’m totally with you on the recycling. Do you guys have “Adopt a Highway”? We have groups that go out periodically and pick up trash along sections of highway that they have adopted. I used to do it with the Boy Scouts. There are many sites in the area. It doesn’t solve the problem, but it helps.

      Like

  3. Anne says:

    First of all I am so excited for you and admire you so much. I can tell that you love teaching and I believe that is very important.

    My only contact with the school system now is through my Grandchildren and it seems to me that things have changed considerably since my children were in school. The apparent lack of respect in the system seems out of control and the rules made to try to control the situation seem unreasonable. So there seems to be a lack of interest in learning. I would like to know if the students there appreciate that they have a school system now. Do they want to learn?

    We are avid recyclers and we do it because they say we should. The effects? I really don’t know. Chester has a new industry that is going to recycle plastic. I don’t believe they have started yet but soon.

    Good luck Roma!

    Like

    • romadenise says:

      Anne, you’re so right. The level of respect shown to teachers has really changed. Not with all kids, of course, but I think the whole attitude toward authority in general has changed over time. I do see kids who don’t seem interested in learning, but I wonder what role models they have outside of school to show them the value of making the most of their education.

      That’s great about the new recycling industry in Chester. I hope it brings in a lot of jobs!

      Like

Leave a Reply

